Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
- Municipality: Vršac
- Postal code: 26300
- Area code: ( + 381 ) 13
The first Orthodox Church in Vršac was built in 1728, during NikolaDimitrijević’ s time as the Bishop. Bishops Josif Jovanović – Sakabenta ( 1805 ) , Petar Jovanović vidak ( 1818 ) , Emilijan Kengelac ( 1885 ) , Nektarije Dimitrijević ( 1895 ) , Georgije Letic ( 1933 ) , Vikentije Vujic ( 1939 and Visarion Kostić ( 1979 ) were buried in the crypts of this Church.
Many well – known artists took part in adorning this Church. Iconostasis waspainted by Pavel Djurkovic, whilst the area around the Throne of the Virgin Mary, the pulpit and the choir were carved by Aksentije Marković.
The ceiling and wall paintings were painted by Simeon Jaksic and Mihajlo Popović.
Nikola Nešković painted the venerable icons. One of the most renowned artists in this region, Paja Jovanović, gave the Church two aesthetically and artistically very valuable paintings: Saint Angelina and St nicholas rescuing the convicts.