Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
- Smederevo - Town on the Danube river (0 km)
- Smederevo' s Autumn (0 km)
- The Smederevo Fortress (0 km)
- The "Golden Hill" villa (0 km)
- The "Jugovo" excursion site (0 km)
- Natural Richness of Municipality Kovin (11 km)
- Religious Monuments of Municipality Kovin (11 km)
- Municipality Kovin (11 km)
- Chapel Blagoveštenje (26 km)
- First Branded Honey in Serbia (26 km)
- Municipality: Smederevo
- Postal code: 11300
- Area code: ( +381 ) 26
The medieval Church of the Dormition of the Holy Mother of God was erected in the 15th century, in an older cult location and it belongs to the Moravian style of single – cupola churches, with a compressed three – nave base. The base of the cross is rectangular, with an added altar apsid to the east and two lateral naves , while in the west there is no narthex.
The wall paintings were produced nearly two centuries after the church was built, and are dated as 16th and early 17th century.
The compositions on the west wall above the entrance are especially valued, as well as those on the arch of the west trave, which depict psalms 148 and 149.
The icons on the altar partition were done by Nikola Apostolović in 1808 and 1827. They are important for studying the art of the period of the Uprisings, considering that they were produced soon after Karađorđe liberated the cityfrom the Turks.
The grave of Dimitrije Davidović, the “father of Serbian journalism” , is located near the church.