The Pilars of George

The Pilars of George  monastery was founded by Stefan Nemanja.

The main object monastery, the church of George, was built in 1170 – 1171. year.

The remains of the existing monastery buildings are (next to church) cistern with well, dining room on the south side and most of the big wall.

Other structures do not originate from the time of the monastery were built later..
The monastery was renewed by the king Dragutin…

Scroll to Top